| 2019 International Conference on Urban Traffic Safety


Program and Speaker Line Up

Note that all program information is subject to change.

Workshop Announcement!

The 2019 International Conference on Urban Traffic Safety kicks off at 1:00pm on August 21st with a workshop on the impact of the Highway 35 & Highway 335 intersection collision involving the Humboldt Broncos bus and a tractor trailer on traffic safety.

On April 6, 2018, sixteen people were killed and thirteen injured when a northbound coach bus struck a westbound semi-trailer truck near Armley, Saskatchewan, Canada. The driver of the semi-trailer had failed to yield at a flashing stop sign at the intersection of Highways 35 and 335. The semi was travelling at a speed of approximately 100 km/h (60 mph). Most of the dead and injured were players from the Humboldt Broncos, a junior ice hockey team that plays in the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL).

On July 6, 2018, the RCMP charged the driver of the semi-trailer, with 16 counts of dangerous operation of a motor vehicle causing death and 13 counts of dangerous operation of a motor vehicle causing bodily injury. In early 2019, the driver pleaded guilty to the charges and was sentenced to 8 years in prison.

The crash made news across Canada and the United States, and prompted condolences from public figures and celebrities, vigils, and tributes, such as people leaving hockey sticks outside their doors. A GoFundMecrowdfunding campaign set a national record by raising more than C$15,000,000

Workshop Speakers:

Cory Wilson, P.Eng., Division Manager, Transportation, McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd.

Sergeant Brian Davyduke, Alberta Justice and Solicitor General, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Branch

Joseph CoteManager of Investigations, Alberta Transportation, Carrier Services Section, Safety & Compliance Services Branch

Charles Fox, Public Safety Investigator, Safety & Compliance Services Branch, Alberta Transportation, Government of Alberta

Dr. Hafez Alavi Transport Accident Commission, Australia

Speakers & Bios

Assistant Commissionaire Mike Keating, Queensland Police Service

Alexander Jannink, Managing Director of Acusensus, Australia

Christopher Britton, Technology Partnerships, City of Edmonton

Commissioner Egbert-Jan Van Hasselt, Dutch National Police, Utrecht, Netherlands

Dean Schick, Transportation Manager, City of St. Albert

Dr. Letty Aarts, Head of the Road Safety Assessment Department for the Institute For Road Safety Research, The Hague, Netherlands

Dr. Don Voaklander, Professor and Director of the Injury Prevention Centre Public Health, University of Alberta

Dr. Hafez AlaviTransport Accident Commission, Australia

Dr. Barry Watson,  Adjunct Professor at the Queensland University of Technology, Queensland, Australia

Dr. Karim El-Basyouny, Associate Professor and City of Edmonton’s Research Chair in Urban Traffic Safety at the University of Alberta

Dr. Laura Thue, Traffic Safety Section, City of Edmonton

Dr. Jeremy Woolley, Automotive Safety Research, University of Adelaide

Libby Thomas, University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center

Shewkar Ibrahim, Traffic Safety Section, City of Edmonton

Please check back for up-to-date information regarding our 2019 speakers!


                              You might also be interested in  T2019, the 22nd International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety (ICADTS) Conference taking place August 18-21, 2019.

SEND EMAIL | CALL : 780-495-0371


Follow the conference activities on: